I Forge Iron

I am very new here, and I am not any part of a Black Smith. I used to shoe horses as a part time job, so that is as close as I ever got to being a Black Smith.
Years ago I accumilated a Wilkenson & Son Queens Dudley anvil that is missing the rear body. I never needed it cause I had an excellent farrier's anvil. Now I have a naging desire to repair this old anvil.
The picture is not of my anvil, but, it is broken at the same place as mine. I do not have the part that is broken off.post-29325-0-11563800-1354071673_thumb.j
Does anyone have any suggestions or can anyone point me to information about repairing it?

Thanks for any help.
Mule

I am by NO means an expert at anvil repair but I am great at fixing really broken things in general. I would have to say that your only hope would be to use what is left of the face as is. It may be possible to weld a section of heavy square tube stock vertically to the rear portion to use as a makeshift hardy hole if you really wanted to. I think that any attempt to rebuild the missing section and make it look close to original would be really tough without re-forging the entire anvil with a new chunk of iron to add. Depending on the condition of the remaining face it could work really well for you without any repair.

traditionally made *old* anvils were forge welded up from chunks of wrought iron. The faces were composed of pieces of higher carbon plate forge welded to the wrought iron. If the face line lines up with the weld line of a piece of the body and that weld was not quite as good as it could have been then they sometimes failed at that point.

Now to repair it old school you need to clean and dress the break, forge a chunk of real wrought iron into the proper shape and forge weld it on and then forge weld a new face section and punch the hardy hole, (or pre-drill it cold and then drift it *hot*) and then re-heat treat the entire anvil.