I Forge Iron

Circular saw damage

yves

I am typing with the left hand. Only the left hand. Along with wood I passed a finger, the right index, on the circular saw. The bone was not cut. It could have been much worst. I was operated on. The tendon is back in place. I will get my finger back. i will not get back the six to eight weeks away from the forge the doctor condemned me to this morning.

I have been working with that saw for more than forty years. It seems like it was only a matter of time. It's my fault. The price is high. I was always carefull. Not enough.

Ouch, I work with circular saws and band saws and planers (among other machines) at my part time job, I have a very healthy respect for them, I try not to get my hands very close- I use pushsticks if my hands will be closer than 200mm and keep the guard well down when possible. It's the planer that scares me the most though!!
Hope you have a speedy recovery!!

As a man who has run a shop with all these tools for years and former firefighter/red cross disaster chairman I have thought long about the hazards involved. Rushing while tired seems to be THE worst sin of all!!! avoid that if at all possible!!!
With planers the greatest danger is kickbacks which will occur in an easily predicted direction... avoid loitering in the line of fire like it is poison (a distant cousin died this way... speared by a stick of wood)!
Jointers are more dangerous than they appear to be... when they eat a finger there is nothing left to reattach!
For tablesaws use featherboards or spring tooth guides rather than risking fingers. I used to make little oak fingers which I clamped in place for delicate control of even very small parts.

Above all else retain firm control. When tired and in a hurry, work with determined and very deliberate precision. When a difficult and possibly dangerous task arises think it through very carefully and take all possible precautions.