I Forge Iron

Plate Armour Basics

I'm fairly new to metalworking as a whole, and I really want to get a taste of as many different aspects of it as possible. I've been making knives, decorative brackets, tools etc on the forge, and I'd really like to try making armour. I can get old drums for free so I have a virtual limitless source of sheet- so why not?

I have been researching how the different plates are made, but one bit I have struggled with is the more simple question of holding it together! I want to base the armour I am making on the one in the picture. From what I can see, he is wearing a chain maile suit under the plate, although I do not believe that the plate attaches to it. There are a few leather straps, but surely there must be more securing the shoulder plates and various arm plates in position? I think I'll leave the majority of the arm plates and just go for spaulders and bracers, but what would you recommend for attaching it all together? The breast and backplate can be secured together with leather straps and the bracers can be held with two leather straps. But I'm really not sure about the spaulders. Any general advice on how they go together would be great and perhaps suggestions on what to wear underneath other than maile?

Thanks!

post-24777-0-70269100-1338587342_thumb.p

May I suggest you ask this question over at armourarchive.org a set of forums that specialize in people making medieval and renaissance armor today. Sure there are a few of us that play in both places; but there are hundreds of folks some of which make armor professionally over there!

The basic answer is that things are strapped and pointed save those that use sliding rivets, etc And you are correct it would not be attached to the underlying maille