I Forge Iron

Straightening a machete?

Are you asking:
- how to harden and temper as a generality
or
- the temperatures to use when the alloy is not known?

The short answer is to heat to above non-magnetic, quench in the appropriate medium for the type of steel, then soak repeatedly at the appropriate temperature for that type of steel.
If the machete is a flea-market special, then you might be able to straighten it by whacking it with a wooden mallet. But since the metal is unknown, providing a more appropriate and liability-safe answer is to say the least difficult. If you harden and temper it, and it breaks off and flies into his face, guess who is likely to be liable.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and don't pretend to be one.

It bent in use. I wasn't sure if it would break bending it cold.

Well, it didn't break the first time! (haha, not helpful)

I was asked to straighten a machete made from a bucksaw. I heated it, straightened it, normalized it as practice for heating such a long object, and then heated to non-magnetic along its entire length (easier said than done) and quenched in water, then tempered with a propane torch to dark straw straw or purple on the edge and blue-gray on the spine (about 1/3 the width). The owner is pleased, and aware of the risks.

Forgot to mention the furniture was removed prior to the owner giving the blade to me.

Phil

Good Morning,

A trick that Arnon (in Portland) showed, was a hammer he made with a piece of rock drill with the carbide bit in place. he would use the carbide hammer to straighten a knife/blade that bent after heat treating. A twist would be taken out by working the blade sideways, a bend would be taken out lengthways. Gentle tapping changes one side of the blade and doesn't upset the blade to refinish.

If the machete bent in use, it will straighten cold. This is the same as bent garden fork tines, straighten cold. If it breaks, it was junk anyway.

Happy New Year,
Neil