I Forge Iron

Minimum time to harden a thin blade

Hi everyone,

I'm a total beginner with regards to heat treating of steel, and am doing my research before attempting to harden my first blade :blink:

I'm planning to harden a 3mm blade, which is made from a German steel similar to N690.

The spec sheet states that the steel should be treated at 1030 °C to 1080 °C for a period of 1 hour per 30mm of thickness.

My question is, do I reduce this time by one tenth, given that my blade is only one tenth the thickness for which the treatment time is given, or is there a minimum treatment time for a steel, regardless of the thickness of the material being treated? I will be doing the heating in a digitally controlled electric kiln, which should keep the temperature pretty close to what is required.

Hennie

According to the manufacturer, Bohler-Uddeholm, you need a 20 minute soak at austenitizing temp. (Presumably that's for blade thicknesses, since N690 is designated as a knife steel). They also call for ramping up the temp in stages, with 15 minute soaks in the ranges of 650-705 deg C, and 815-870 deg C. Also note that although the data sheet says it's an oil quench steel, the heat treat summary says a plate quench with forced air is typical. That's more in line with what little I know of heat treating stainless steels. They tend to be very deep hardening, so it surprised me when you said (and I verified via the data sheet) that N690 is listed as an oil quench steel. The oil quench recommendation may be for much thicker cross-sections than a typical knife. It is common to use more severe quenchants as the size of the cross-section increases, because large pieces hold so much heat that it can present problems in achieving an acceptable cooling rate. But what works well for a very large piece may destroy a thinner cross-section of the same steel