I Forge Iron

complete newb question

Howdy guys and gals~

I am looking to do a bit of "blacksmithing" to support another hobby and I have a real quick question for you all.

First, the other hobby: I sculpt with polymer clays. I would like to design/create more tools, as those I have don't always meet my needs. I could go and buy some nice sets but again, I'm not guaranteed to have what I want/need. So why not have some fun making my own? (I am prepared for failures and doing things over a few times :) )

I would like to make these tools using steel rod. My question is this: if I am using 1/8 inch

you might be able to heat the 1/8th in rod but not the 1/4 in and it would take a long time to get them hot enough. unless you built a single refractory brick forge just a refractory brick with a tube into which you place your steel and another smaller hole to put the torch into i have made a forg like this and used it to heat 1/2 rebar to orange heat with a propane torch. and for higher temps/faster heats try mapp gas.

There was a guy a few yrs ago that came up with a "bean can forge". I saw this in a newsletter. He took large bean can (I guess about 4" in diam, not gettin up to look) and lined it with refractory blanket (kaowool, durablanket etc).
He then stuck the tip of a plain jane propane torch (not the smaller, self igniting kind) through a hole in the side of the can. You could have a 3/4" hole in the opposite end of the can to pass longer lengths through but that end should be covered with a layer of the isulation also. This would get your rod hot enough and heat up quite a bit quicker than brick. Brick would work just fine too.

Wow, thanks guys. i have some reading to do. the "bean can" forge is similar to what is used for Raku pottery. very intersting. i KNOW i could make that one. will have to read up on the others.