I Forge Iron

lungs & safety

karine

Lung safety is a very important topic for metal workers. Two of my neighbors were professional welders and both died of lung cancer. They both smoked but the widow of one man told us the doc told her the combination of welding and cigarette smoking is about 3 times more toxic than either on its own. I have never smoked and tend to stay in shape but several years ago I had an MRI done after an X-ray showed shadows in the upper 1/3 section of my lungs. The technician glanced at my images and asked if I was a welder. I responded that I'd been around it for a long time and he commented that the "shadows" were likely from grinding debris and that I appeared to have very mild silicosis. I never noticed any loss of lung power (maybe because I work out regularly) but the damage is real. Prior to this episode, I rarely wore breathing apparatus for any process, whether I was forging, welding, painting or grinding. I now wear the best particle shields I can buy - they are not actual respirators but much better than nothing.

For all grinding operations I use the cheap dust masks with a valve in front, less fog-up of my glasses. When I am welding I have a 20" box fan set on low speed near my work area, I position myself so the fumes are blown away from me. An exhaust fan removes the smoke from the shop.

I also have a 20" evacuation fan (2 speed) positionned on the wall near my welding table, low speed is enough and if I need to weld or grind further in the shop I set it on high. (I still do wear a mask when grinding).
My shop measures 16' x 12' so this seems to do quit well for me. I've seen a big difference before and after installing the fan.

Naz