I Forge Iron

ANVILS ?????? (help)

I need a new anvil badly I have been blacksmithing for seven years my current is a russian cast steel it was either that or a cast iron one asking why I took this long to get a good anvil ( one word college) I'm looking at several different anvils around the 250 to 300lbs range, here's my problem....

1. a wide face like Nimba Centurion
2. a narrow face like old world anvils Austrian workhorse
3. a narrow face with side shelf like ozark pattern

Others I've considered are Peddinghaus/Rigid, Refflinghaus, Kohlshwa the thing about kohlshwa is I don't know the dimension and I'm sure shipping will be very expensive

Like last night I was working on some tools and some artistic stuff. On the tools I'm like I need a wide face but on the artistic stuff I'm like I need a narrow face. but I'll do both works equally and sometimes I'll make horseshoes which is like once in a blue moon

so any help here would be awesome if any y'all owns anyone of these anvils tell me how you like it, pros and cons or ones I haven't consider all the information I could get would be great...

Tye - You received some honest info on the other site about your same question as you posted here - alot of ppl frequent both sites, so I think the answers will be the same. This will really come down to "you" as your the one paying for it and only you know what you want/need. An anvil can be of any shape, as long as it has the mass to back up the work your doing. Many ppl use just a square block of steel. What is wrong with the anvil you are using now?

Or, as you've been using your current anvil for the 7 yrs of blacksmithing.... what has been the problems you've encountered with using that particular anvil? - What do you wish was changed while you are forging? That will be the answer to what shape you should be looking for.