I Forge Iron

welding on an anvil

I am new to black smithing. I have an old anvil that looks like someone used a cutting tourch on it. There are Gouges on the face and in the hardy hole. The edges need work too. My question is can I weld on my anvil with 7018 or do I need to use a different rode. Any suggestions would help out alot.

Yes a picture would be nice. If the anvil is steel or iron yes you can do fillet welds with 7018 after each pass you will need to wire bursh the slag off I used an angle grinder then peen the bead once you start keep it going until you are done you will want to keep the heat in the anvil. I did mine and I am very pleased with its out come.

7018 is not a good choice. It will be a color mismatch at best, and generally softer than common anvil faces.

Gunter's anvil repair uses Stoody hard facing products, and provides better color and hardness match.

Pictures are very helpful, many anvils have some damage, but not enough to worry about, as working around the damage is very easy. Some edge conditions are helpful for work being done, since edges should be rounded.

Phil

I had a large old anvil from a copper mine in AZ that the %^&* maintenance crew has used as a prop when gouging. The face was *pristine* between the gouges. I drug it around a number of years until the local ABANA Affiliate held an anvil repair clinic hosted by a Welding instructor and highly talented smith.

He used the Gunter Method and did proper preheat---had an optical pyrometer to measure the temp! Now the anvil is back in duty. (Only two anvils showed up for the clinic which was well as one had had the face milled down too thin to be usable and took 5 hours of work by a pro to get back into using shape and then mine had the gouges but took less time to repair particularly as I requested that it be a using repair and not a Concours d'Elegance repair. I figure my anvil is up to around 410 pounds after it's face lift...)

Most anvils are made out of different stuff!