I Forge Iron

Anvil ID and fair price..First anvil

Hi all.. My first post here. Been lingering and learning a while and finally have an opportunity to make a local anvil purchase. This anvil is being offered to me at $75- possibly negotiable. It appears to be somewhat old based on the construction and what little I've learned so far. It weighs 120lb.'s according to the seller. It has been on his property dating back to when his current garage was a carriage house. It has many thick layers of paint, making it difficult to identify any stampings, etc. It does have a "2" low on one end at the foot. The top plate is damaged, as visible in the photo. Photos show general dimensions- the height is about 10.5in. The opposite side is in good condition, as is the remainder of the anvil. I'm curious as to the maker and possible age of this anvil, significance of damage, as well as folks thoughts on whether $75 is a fair or good price to pay for this as my first anvil. I'm just getting started in blacksmithing, so its use will be very general. I've inherited an old Buffalo forge and now I need an anvil to get started. Thanks in advance for any info or help!

post-21006-0-03482400-1304819632_thumb.j

post-21006-0-53568300-1304819654_thumb.j

post-21006-0-26615000-1304819704_thumb.j

post-21006-0-93220200-1304819720_thumb.j

At that price, you can get it, use it and resell it and most likely get your money back, at least. As far as IDing the anvil, it would help to take a wire wheel on a hand grinder and clean the paint down to where you can read any brand name, serial #, weight, etc. It should serve you well especially for a first anvil. Good luck. :)