I Forge Iron

Potential first anvil

Hey all! Been a lurker for awhile here, and have really enjoyed the discussions and advice given through out the site. So, I need some advice. I am looking to buy my first anvil, used of course. The fellow has sent me a few pictures of it, and it looks pretty good. 150#, 1" hardy hole, 14" high, 4.5" face. Very little wear. But, I wanted to get experienced opinions on the anvil, since I will have to travel about 150 miles to retrieve it. Thanks for your attention, and happy forging!

post-14914-0-77047900-1300500009_thumb.j

post-14914-0-38003300-1300500099_thumb.j

It looks like it would be a decent anvil if you can get it for a good price. I'm thinking its a farriers anvil by the shape of the horn, could be wrong though. Whats he asking for it?

Asking price is $175, so about $1.17/#. The price is great, and it looks good to my eyes, but I guess I'm just being cautious as I'm a newbie.

Also take a straight edge and run from horn to heel, and across to see how much the face has been pounded down. Sometimes this can get you a few bucks off the price!! Did it with the first anvil I bought and got about a third off the asking price. Then took it home and with the help of my trusty angle grinder, elbow grease and time, got it pretty good!!

RH caution is a good thing.

I have seen far worse anvils asking for more than double that.

If the face is reasonably straight and it doesn't have any delaminations, then $175 is a stellar price and you should jump on it before someone else does.

If you are just planning to do smithing as a hobby, you may never need to buy another anvil again. Good luck and let us know how it all works out.

Sam