I Forge Iron

stainless anvil

I searched IFI for any information about stainless anvils. There is none. Is it not possible to cast and process (harden and temper) stainless anvils? There seems to be many questions about how to protect anvils left out in the open. Also googled stainless anvils. Haven't found anything yet.

Yes it's quite possible; however you could buy a stack of regular steel anvils and just trash them when they got grungy and still probably come out ahead money wise.

You may notice there are tons of sites that discuss problems with cars rusting however nobody makes Ti bodied cars---it isn't worth the cost and hassle! (I was impressed with the Delorean's stainless body though...)

I frankly am puzzled by all the fuss and bother about anvils and their protection. I've been smithing for 30 years now in both dry and damp climates and never noticed that I needed to do anything but *use* an anvil to keep it looking good! Of course I'm inland so I can't talk of coastal corrosion aspects.

My anvils stay outside all year long. After the initial patina is formed it doesn't really get any worse. I really see it as a non issue myself.

My anvil stays outside all year also. I just cover it at night to keep rain/dew off of it. When it was given to me there was evidence that it had been partially buried in dirt. There are no signs of it rusting away. We cleaned it up oiled it down and amazingly it looks the same today as it did when we cleaned it up. I haven't done anything special with it. I've thought about oiling it frequently but never seem to do it. Perhaps if it looked like it was corroding then it would clue me in to oil it.
I've also thought about painting it but it since it shows no signs of rust, why do it. Every now and then I do hit it with the wire brush to clean it up but no rust.
If it ever shows any signs of corroding, then I'll do something.

Mark<><