I Forge Iron

New guy intro

robodog

Just a quick word of intro.

I just inherited a complete blacksmith shop. My father was a hobby smithy for about 40 years. Over the years I have played around with his stuff from time to time but never really spent much time learning it. Anyways, now I'm setting up the shop and learning what I can. Still have not fired up the forge as I don't have a chimney yet. I've been reading books and poking around on the web.

I have a decent mechanical aptitude, having done a lot of woodworking, some plumbing, and some electrical work over the years. I am a professional pilot by trade, so I have a good understanding of how high speed aluminum tubing moves.

Live in rural (yes there are some rural parts) New Jersey and my shop will be unheated but well protected from the elements.

I also inherited oxy-acetylene tanks and an arc welder. Don't know much about either of those things, but I'm looking for a local welding class to take.

Welcome, If you can take a class at a community college for welding that would probably get you all you need on the arc and the oxy-acet. torch. Then go to some hammer ins and start to meet people in your area.
I hear that pilots have some kind of polish for plastic that is used on windshields and instruments to remove scratches. Can you let me know what works for that and where to get it?
Rob

I hear that pilots have some kind of polish for plastic that is used on windshields and instruments to remove scratches. Can you let me know what works for that and where to get it?
Rob

Hi Rob,