I Forge Iron

My First Leaf

Well I started to get into something a bit more artistic. Leaves may be old hat for many of you but this is my first attempt at a leaf with a vine stem. I started with a 1/2" round bar, squared it, tapered it to a point, used another 1/2" bar as an improvised fuller to make the bottom of the leaf. After I had the basic form I flattened the leaf, then using my cross peen, spread it out. Then I had to work on creating the stem which I did using the horn and radius edge of my anvil as a fuller, then flattening the fuller raised areas and squaring it off and finally rounding the stem. Then I used a hot cut hardy to separate the leaf, heated yellow and over three successive heats I used my machinist vise (dont have a post vise) to make the ring and then wrap the stem, I tried to do some veining but I just don't have the right tools I think because it didn't take well. Id like to be able to do raised veins in the back but I would have no idea how.

So what do you think?

post-14357-015865800 1286600146_thumb.jp

post-14357-045650000 1286600154_thumb.jp

Looking good, next you can try to draw out your stem some more to give it a more tapered look. If you use a set hammer you can get a raised rib effect down the center, and a straight or curved chisel is good for veining.

Thanks. What is a set hammer? Do you have a link to one for sale so I can see what you mean?

I tried to copy an image but i am not computer literate enough to figure out how to put it on here.......just google "set hammer". Basically it is a struck tool(you set it on your work and hit it with your smithing hammer) and is a basic smithing tool. I see them for sale on Ebay regularly, or you could modify one of those cheap Chinese squareheaded stonecarving hammers.