I Forge Iron

Annealing question

im new to this and im looking to twist some box steel, i saw it done with cold steel but they said it had to be annealed... as of now i dont have a forge but i do have acetylene tank with a torch but im not sure if that will do it, im not really sure how to anneal metal. can anyone help me?

Annealing is basically getting the steel red hot then cooling it very slowly. I use dry wood ashes to anneal my parts. Free, and they work great.

Mild steel isn't readily hardenable,as it doesn't have enough carbon content, so it shouldn't need an annealing first. Twisting is usually done with the metal hot, so it is a moot point for the most part.

You can add your location to your profile which will allow smiths closer to you to possibly help you out personally.

The BigGunDoctor has forgotten that annealing is often used in low carbon and even non-ferrous metals to remove work hardening allowing the metal to be deformed without cracking and so is a common practice working mild steel cold.

Hard to anneal with only a torch but you may be able to get away with only normalizing---like many armour makers do.

well i saw this tool on youtube looks good so i built my own but wont twist anything read up on it and it says that the steel needs to be annealed what do you think?

What size tube do you think you are going to twist in that size set up? You will need to plug the ends to allow a solid grip, tube is not the easiest thing to twist.

Use hot rolled bar and it should be OK without annealing, If you are going to anneal, you may just as well twist it hot, a lot easier than when cold.

On the vid one looks like aluminium, the other looks like the bar was either black, or annealed, judging by the scale popping off

Whats the problem with your set up? Picture may help.

Twisting is one of the simplest things to do, and does not require much tooling toachieve a good result