I Forge Iron

Just starting out! *NEED HELP*

Bluedemon62

I'm just starting out knifemaking and would appriciate tips/suggestions. I've already made two useing an old furnace and plain fire wood blown hot by an old inflate-a-bed blower; a thrower about 2 1/2ins long and a small fixed blade. (I'll try an attach a pic of the fixed blade.) However, they are very rough and made with metal that was too soft; they bend with moderate ease...

Anyhow, I just recently bought a gas forge and I already have several hammers, a set of self-made tongs(again, too pliable, but they work ok), an anvil, and all applicable safety equipment.

I was thinking that I might get some railroad spikes and go at 'um? I'm more or less looking for a good beginners project that will help me get better familiar with knifesmithing. So if you have any tips, suggestions, or other ideas, please let me know!

Best so far out of 2:

post-12774-12632280967823_thumb.jpg

Depends on your budget. If you can afford good quality steel from a reputable supplier go for it! Then its just learning techneque, forging the tip, tang bevels etc!

If you dont want to learn on more expensive materials try and find an old truck coil spring. You can cut 6" sections from it (Zip disk in a 4 1/2 grinder will make short work of it), straighten and forge flat, then onto tips, tangs & bevels. Advantage of a big spring is you will have quite a bit of the same material which means you can play around with the heat treatment etc and compare results, which isnt the case if you start forging old files and suchlike (which are another favourite source of good knife steel)

Have fun!

Both, its the way I hold the metal on the anvil sometimes.. And sometimes its just the angle I work it with the hammer. To keep it symmetrical you have to swap sides every once in a while, I learned by trial and error.

Keep at it, looks good for a first or second knife!