I Forge Iron

Samson anvil

I picked this up about a year ago. I had no idea what I had. I thought it was just a no name steel faced cast iron anvil. I weighs about 70 lbs. It seems to have seen very little use. I am not a hard core collector I own about 5 or six anvils. I am a professional smith with about 10 years in the trade. I have read Anvils in America 2 or 3 times. I took this out to Sofa meet this fall, and showed it to Richard Postman. He said it was the first he had ever seen but there is another known in the northwest. He said that mine was unusual because the trademark is on the cutting table. The mark is stamped not cast. I may eventually sell this for the right price but for now I just want to show it off.

20048.attach

20049.attach

20050.attach

20051.attach

There are only two known of this brand of anvil. Richard Postman said that this is the only one he has ever seen. In the book he says he could not locate one. He told me the other one is very poor condition. I met a few guys guys at sofa who collect smaller table top size anvils and seem quite devoted to it. I have noticed there seems to be resentment towards anvil collecting from some people. How is it any different from collecting guns or cars. I know some people want them to be dirt cheap but look at it this way. Old anvils are basically hand made by today's standards. They are made with materials and or processes that are no longer used. No body is going to start up a plant making wrought iron or for welding cast iron to steel. Then take years to learn all of the processes and skills necessary to make a good quality anvil. What would that anvil sell for $5000 or something like that. Also you can buy a decent starter anvil for $200 $300 bucks and turn around and get you money out of it just by listing it on eBay. What other thing can you do that with. And you can make a living with one. If anything old anvils are too cheap.