I Forge Iron

Got to Brag

I know, I know, forgive me but I'm new at this and have no one else to brag to who understands but!
I just made my first set of tongs yesterday and THEY WORK!!! :o:D;)
Showed them to my wife and even she was impressed (some what). I'm not sure though if it was because of the skill it took to make them or the fact I could make something that worked. No matter why I'm all jazzes and planning to make another this time for round stock as these have flat jaws and don't do well on the round stuff (found out the hard way). I also made 2 handles to attach to my home made rail road anvil stand so I can move it easier, which is another story. I did learned a number of lessons though on how not to do something so the next time will be better.
But, all in all it's still a blast to be banging metal and making something from nothing and I'm loving it. :D

By the way my charcoal making is a bust, tried using it and would not burn well or as hot as the store bought. But at $5:00 or $6:00 a bag I can afford that and give up charcoal making till I can start buying coal.

Good for you! It gives one a great feeling to know that you can make something with your own two hands. You have also learned what to do and what not to do when making or using something. That is all aprt of the learning process and you will find that the more you learn and the more mistakes you make (and know what they were) the better you will get. It is addictive to say the least and from the sounds of things you are well on your way to happy hammering for some time to come. Kep it up and have FUN!

Terry

Well done!

Let us know how long it takes that smile on your puss to fade? That's not counting the smile you'll get every time you look at it or use it, those will keep coming for a long time.

Don't give up on the charcoaling, it takes practice as well and wood selection makes a difference. Soft wood charcoal burns hotter but doesn't last as long as hardwood charcoal.

Frosty