I Forge Iron

Smithing Tools

I have a problem. I caught the bug and I am buying all sorts of hammers, files, cold chisels and punches. Is there a general list of tools that I SHOULD have versus what I am buying? Also I have one leg/post vise, and have access to another. Do I ever really "NEED" more than one?

I'm a mechanic. Tools are in my blood. My father keeps telling me to set up my own shop. He's a mechanic and machinist himself.

I also believe that you can never really have to many tools myself, but which are the right ones to own? I've been buying cold chisels to make for a fit in the hardy hole so I can use them to cut hot metal and to make them into other tools as needed.

I understand the basics: hammer, anvil, heat source and tongs. I have many sets of old pliers that I have been considering forge welding long handles onto them to make use of them as tongs. Does that sound practical?

I kind of started a post similar to this but I think folks missed the point of it. The best I can figure is once you have an idea of some basic operations that you want to perform. Find/make the tools needed for that operation. So for instance, I would rather hot cut than use my cutoff wheel for most things I do so that became a priority for me to make first. I like punching holes instead of drilling them so I grabbed a punch from the store but drilled some 3/8" plate full of holes to aid in punching. It also gets used for heading rivets since I want to make rivets instead of buy them. I like the look of twists so I welded a pipe onto the head of a flea market monkey wrench for twisting. I want to start making bigger holes next so my next job is making drifts.

What types of things are you looking to make?

Rob.