I Forge Iron

Minimum gear for a newb...

If this exists already, please delete...

I'm thinking there's some minimum stuff someone should buy or make just to get started. I don't know if a top ten is the way to go or what but as a newb I find my self getting into problems when I try to do things. So if folks had some thoughts of what would be a minimum for a newb I would love to hear it.

Assuming a large something to hit on and a hammer, what types of tools do I really need.
Here's what I mean...

I wanted to cut off some stock but I didn't make a hot cut hardy.
I was making a scroll and needed to adjust it but didn't have forks.
I was punching holes and had a punch and bolster so score!
I tried to make a rivet and had a bolster/header but not a hot cut so fail.
I did make a hold down and tried to use it once and realized the crotch method for punching works better.
Oh ya, punches, drifts, and chisels.

I understand it depends on the job etc... and at this point I know what I'm missing. But I'm thinking for someone just starting out, what few things should they make sure they have before even lighting the forge?

Rob.

make what ya need as ya need it a hot hut dan be replaced by a hack saw of cold chisel or the sharp edge of an anvil for a hold down a byicile chain on a pedal works well
for punches i opt for the drill and drift method or slitting and drifting than shaping on the horn for rivrting pinning works as well if not better than rivets

Cutting steel is one of the fundamental blacksmithing operations. Luckily there are a lot of 'simple' ways to do it and all of these work 'well enough' for you to develop/discover the 'best' or 'most efficient/convenient' for your application.

Hacksaws can be had for as little as