I Forge Iron

Can you build a gas forge for less than it costs to buy one?

rdennett

With the advent of these inexpensive Mr Volcano forges ($68 at present), is it worth it to try to build one?  I currently use a JABOD forge using coke for fuel.  I would continue to use that, but coke is hard to come by in central Texas and is rather expensive.  Coal is cheaper, but I live in the burbs and I don't want to piss off the neighbors with smoke from green coal.  I can get lump charcoal for $27 for 34lbs, but I don't like it as much because of fire fleas and the fact that it doesn't go out by itself at the end of the day, waisting any unburned fuel.  Propane is easy to get, practically 24 hours a day, but I have not taken the plunge since propane forges are much more expensive than a JABOD.  However, I might just do that.  I am only a hobbyist, so I try to keep things inexpensive, but the forge mentioned above is not much of an outlay.  Could I come in cheaper by building my own?

I am also curious about forced air forges.  Do they have to have a ribbon burner?  How much gas pressure do they need?  Less than the 2PSI I understand a BBQ regulator puts out?  What about the blower?  Do you need one of the squirrel cage blowers I commonly see people use or could you get away with a hair dryer like my JABOD uses?

15 minutes ago, rdennett said:

With the advent of these inexpensive Mr Volcano forges ($68 at present)

The short answer is no. Furthermore, most people who build a gas forge, find out that large or small "it isn't the right size," shape, or whatever. No it isn't actually wrong; they just want a second forge that's different :rolleyes:

So, it would only be smart to jump all over that offer, before the people at Mister Volcano come to their senses.

Making your own propane forge is only cheaper if you've already made a few and used them for a few years so you know how to build what you need. Even then, as Mike says it won't be what you need or want for long.