I Forge Iron

Anvil ID Help

I have been beating on an anvil my boss “loaned” to me 20 years ago and I’ve decided to identify it. I am no expert but it is cast with thin metal top plate. Large (1 1/4”) hardie hole and 5/8” pritchel hole. The only clear markings is a 19 stamped in the side. I am assuming that is in ten weights for 190 lbs. There seems to be writing or dots indented above the 19. I just cannot make out a word. Looks to me like the first letter is a W. From my research I want to think it is American, but again, I’m no expert. I have pics but not sure how to post. Any ideas or research suggestions are appreciated. 

Welcome aboard Terry, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you'll have a better chance to meet up with members living within visiting distance.

At the bottom of the text window is the button  "choose files". click on it and choose the file from your computer by double clicking on it. A thumbnail of the file will down load below the text window. click the "insert" button and it will move to the cursor's location.

Frosty The Lucky.

Welcome from the Ozark mountains. The number stamping looks like 194 to me and is the weight as manufactured. I think the word starting with the W is warranted. If you could tip the anvil and take a picture of the underside of the base, it will help in the ID. If the ring and rebound is good it really doesn't matter who made it it's good. Solving the maker mystery is fun and we will try our best.

I can't control the wind, all I can do is adjust my sails.

I agree with the statements above and would also be very surprised if was cast. From having handling holes and what appears to be weld seems below the horn and heal, I would put my money on it being a forged wrought iron anvil with a steel face.