I Forge Iron

Is 17.2" (43cm) too much for a single burner?

Combobulus

I'm building a forge, and have already bought a single burner. I'm planning on using the core of a large hot water heater. The diameter is roughly 43cm wide (without the insulation.) With insulation it'll be around 30cm. I'll probably make it around 30cm long as well (I have well over a meter of length available). Is this too much for a single burner to handle? Burner is the basic Devil's Forge DFP burner. 

I was also wondering whether or not something like 2 layers of 2" insulation is too much for a forge, haven't seen or heard anyone mention it anywhere. 

Cheers

I'm sorry to say that that burner won't even get a forge that size warm. I have a devils forge with 2 DFP burners, it's about 5"x5" and 16" long. 2 burners will get this hot, but it's not great.

That's a huge forge, what are you planning? I'm relatively new to this (only a few years) and have learnt that smaller is better when it comes to forges - build the smallest forge you can realistically use. 

Also, put your location in your profile, it helps everyone with specific advice.

On 7/30/2023 at 1:47 AM, Combobulus said:

Is this too much for a single burner to handle?

Way too much.   By my calculations you'd need 4 of them for the size of forge you have planned.

What you have described is a gas guzzling monster of a forge.  Unless you are planning to do production work where several people will need to be heating things in the forge simultaneously or you have a very specific need for a forge chamber that large you should seriously consider a forge with a smaller chamber.   Just because you have something you think would make a good outer shell does not mean you have to use it - or all of it anyway.