I Forge Iron

Looking for some good tips since I'm new to this

Hi all,

I am glad I came across this forum as I saw a lot of people had some good info in certain sections. 

I have been studying up on it for a while and judging by the post I've seen, I have just scratched the surface. So I wanted to ask for some good tips. To explain where I am starting, I was wanting to order a forge kit with a 12k crucible. I wanted to start small with scrap metal, but what I am doing right now is trying to recycling some cans to start. So a few questions if ya'll wouldn't mind teaching me some are...

since some cans are steel with a tin coating, will the tin burn off in the high temps needed for steel? (I Will be using a forced burner with propane in a mostly closed container. there is a small hole on top of the lid to let air out)

would that small hole be small enough to slow down oxidation? (I would assume in a semi closed space not much oxygen would be left over from the propane burning)

If its still not enough then would using the stoichiometric ratio of propane to oxygen be a solution? (just using air so to achieve that I would think first I would have to know the amount of air moving from my blower, then take 21% of that for one side of the ratio. for the other side of the ratio I would need 15.67 of that 21% in propane.) 

what are the most cost efficient ways to strip the impurities off the can before melting? (preferably no acids since aluminum cant be recovered from its salts, at least from what I know) 

would the slag reduction be worth it since it would technically result in less aluminum being mixed with impurities?

if there is anything besides these questions in tips yall can be give me, I would love to hear it. I do plan on using a face shield for this as well as a leather cover for my front. I definitely value my safety so no need for too much concern. in fact safety tips from your experience will be welcome too.