I Forge Iron

Building a keg furnace. Need advice.

Hello all,

Let me start by saying I am a total newb to all of this, but I have been doing a lot of reading on this forum the last couple of months.

I am building a foundry/furnace out of an old beer keg. My main interest are to melt/cast aluminum and copper to begin with. Brass interest me but from what I have read on here, it is pretty nasty stuff to mess with so maybe later on that.

I have the top cut off the keg and purchased 2" kawool, rigidizer, ITC-100, tongs, clay graphite crucible, and made my burner(waste oil burner). I have purchased welding gloves, face shield, respirator, much of the safety equipment. That is about as far as I hove gotten. My question is do I need to install a hard refractory liner after the kaowool or can I use Satanite or something similar and then coat with the ITC-100? I know Frosty recommends kast-o-lite 30 but there is no place close to me that has it and every place that I have checked wants close to $150 in shipping fees to send me a 55lb $100 bag. The area inside the keg is almost 8 sq ft, so I would need many bags of it too. What are the pros/cons by not installing the hard liner and just using Satanite? Every place close to me just gives me the "deer in the headlight stare" when I ask about any of this stuff.

Also, can anyone give me the coverage area of Satanite? I have emailed back and forth all day to Harbison Walker and they can not even tell me. You would think that the manufacturer would know huh? They say it is a mortar and is for brick laying. They keep recommending me get Mizzou Castable Plus. Again, no where available close to me.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

Hello back, if you put your general location in the header someone on the forum who knows how to build a melter might live within visiting distance. 

Have you tried reading a casting forum? Iforge is a Blacksmith Forum they're not the same even though there are casters onboard here.