I Forge Iron

advice regarding new forge

gewoon ik

Gents and ladies

I'm fairly new to blacksmithing. I follow a course with a blacksmith to become a blacksmith. But now the first year is finished and during the break I still want to practice making steel hot and shaping it into something. I want to  make smallish things : hooks, firepokers, bottle-openers, tools to make those thinks (so tongs and chisels and ...) small scrolls (i have a trivet made out of 3 scrolls that I like and some friends as well)

I have a small workshop I rent (cheap). The building is an old stable used for chickens. The building is used and cleaned over 15 years ago and transformed into a workshop. The ventilators are still in and half of them are working, so ventilation is not a problem. Even without the ventilators running, it is drafty.

My first idea was cheap so a coalforge. But I cannot install a chimney (not my building). My lot is also at the end of the building. Rolling my equipment 50m to the big entrance to put my forge outside is something I will do max 5 times and than can't be bothered with. Also no shelter outside and I cannot leave my equipment outside or close to the door. No shelter is a biggie, Belgium normally has a lot of rain, I'm made out of sugar so I melt in the rain.

Second idea or the idea I have now. Gasforge. But I'm a beginner. So no need for a expensive forge. Don't have the money and also pearls for the pigs. And I want a readymade to start with. To make one, I really want to do, but for now, I want to buy one. Take it out of the box, do minimal things with it and start forging. I don't want to look in 20+ different sites for the materials and ordering them and have the forge ready by the end of the summer or the start of my lessons.

So I see 2 choices.

•  Devil Forge DFSW. 
    • + cheap (160 euros)
    • + on stock
    • + comes with rigidiger for the isolation