I Forge Iron

5160 Steel Uses in Blacksmithing

I'm a newbie to blacksmithing.  I retired a couple years ago and started playing around with metal working, welding, and now blacksmithing. I've been stalking up on materials from the junkyard and recently have come across a seller who has lots of new old stock of 5160 steel flat bar in various sizes with most being 0.25" thick. This steel is new and isn't reclaimed material from leaf springs.

I would like to stock up on some of this 5160 flat bar stock as the price is very reasonable. I understand it works well in using for larger survival type knives, but what other applications would you recommend this steel be used for?  Here's a couple items I would eventually like to make with this steel in the future as my blacksmithing skill level increases:  large survival knives, machete, draw knives, wood timber framing chisels, and European scythe blades.  What's your opinion on using 5160 for these type of applications?  Also, I have several planers to include a 16" jointer, four head planer/moulder and several simple hand wood planers.  Would 5160 work as wood planer blades?  Any other ideas on what could be made with 5160 steel flat bar stock as I gradually increase my blacksmithing skills?  Thank you for your time and I look forward to reading your recommendations.

My recommendation would be to use your browser's search function, I use chrome and when I type in   5160 site:iforgeiron.com    I get 1130 results discussing 5160 *only* on iforgeiron!   

Synopsis: good for blades, especially larger ones. Good for tooling made by starting blacksmiths. As scythe blades were traditionally made from iron and the edge hammer hardened I don't know about that. Planer and joiner blades are best made from high alloy steels not very forgeable but with lots of wear resistance.