I Forge Iron

Suspended weathervane

I have a unique piece of hand-sawn hardwood that weighs 15 ibs, which I'd like to make into a weathervane suspended from under my roof eave. The primary stumbling block is finding the right hardware to allow it to pivot properly: I've so far purchased a 3/4" swivel eye snap hook, rated at 30 lbs load limit, and a 1/4" x 2 1/2' lag screw eye, both Marine grade; the screw eye would screw into the top of the wood, now I need the right piece of hardware to screw into the rafter under the eave. The swivel eye snap hook has a closed loop, as does the screw eye, so whatever hardware I use for the upper mount has to have an open hook rather than a closed loop. Any alternatives to these items, as well as other advice, would be welcome. I'm a retired carpenter/maintenance-man by trade. 

Thank you...

Welcome aboard, if you were close to me, I could forge just about any type of hook to use between the snap hook & screw eye. Not knowing if you have the capability to forge or where in the world you are located it's hard to give a concise answer though. This may give you some ideas. Pictures of your hardware might help.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/cloverdaleforge/sets/72157678651367780/

Never had this type of suspension/pivot requested before, but may I suggest a possible solution and a couple of potentially major problems.

Solution, IMHO it will need need an independent axle and bearings to allow it to freely swivel, axle secured to ceiling, bearings mounted at each edge of the timber with a clearance hole through the timber.

Major problems are,

To rotate freely in the wind direction the vane should be balanced,

One end of the vane needs to be more wind resistant than the other so you can figure which direction the wind is coming from, which may mean profiling a shape or adding ballast if needed