I Forge Iron

Cutting my (improvised) anvil in half.

So I have been playing with my anvil for a couple of months and I'm not really thrilled with the width of the face on my anvil. It just feels too narrow for me.  It could very well be my inexperience because I have seen on here folks using very small anvils that make the hunk of iron I have look enormous, and they do fantastic work, so tell me to quit whining if that's what I need to hear B)

Anyway, I currently have it sitting so that I have this.  The i beam does not get hammered on, it's just what the vise is bolted to.  Next to the I beam is what I hit things on.  Pig Iron according to dad, but it's probably some sort of wrought iron in reality.  I may have been rolled through some sort of rolling press at some point because it has that slight curve.  It's a couple of inches wide there, maybe 2 1/2.  Its on its side giving about 10 inches of mass underneath.  It's about 19 inches long.

What I'm thinking about doing is cutting it in half and putting the chunks side by side, fitting the curvature together to gain a wider surface to hit.  I'd have to totally rework the stand, and that's ok

An alternative would be to just flip it on it's side, convex side up.  I would lose the mass under the hammer, but would gain a substantial amount of work surface. I might also be able to drill out a pritichel hole and I might even be able to figure out how to get a hardie hole in there.  This would also mean having to do things to my stand to get it back up to the correct height.

A third option would be to move the I beam with the vise on it .  As it sits, I have to partially reach across it to work, or take a couple of extra steps so that I am facing it length wise.

So should I mess with it or learn to deal with it?   

IMG_20201011_155201.thumb.jpg.366b9255fb2a421db916f4b0aaa3c944.jpg