I Forge Iron

Getting Started

Lone Wolf

Hello,
I’m just starting out, built a quick fire brick forge. Inside dim. H=4.5", W=6.5" & L=9", with one home made burner based on research. I have a 20# LP tank, now I’m not sure what regulator I should purchase. Do i need to consider a larger tank?
Consider: this is a temporary forge for now, once I get going I would like to build something like the LP tank forge. I would like to progress into Damascus and forge welding, possibly a dual burner. This all said, I would like to buy a LP regulator that fits my set-up now and can be used as I progress. Thanx

If those are hard firebricks your forge will be a real gas hog and not be a joy to use.  Long time to come up to forging temp and long time to cool down to safe stowage temps.

BTW not knowing which of the 100+ countries that participate her makes it quite difficult to suggest a regulator; all I can say is  a "high pressure propane regulator going from 0-20 psi" will probably work. Of course not knowing anything about your burner makes that a risky call as well.  Can you tell me what sized tires I need to buy for my truck?  WHY NOT?

Thanx Tom

USA......I understand the Tire analogy, but this is why I'm here, right. Because you can't ask what you don't know. I tried to give a good description, knowing xxxx well I would be lacking in technical data.

The fire brick I'm using is the cheap 1" thick type from Menards, easily cut even with a bread knife. I lost my job of 30 yrs, so I'm just wanting to play a bit and share the learning experience with my 6 yr. old grand son. I will build something better once I'm back to work. As I said, I'm interested in buying something that will work now with this set-up, and with something better and maybe bigger in the future. What if the future forge is a double burner and I will be wanting to forge weld. Would the 0-20 still be a good regulator?