I Forge Iron

Damascus Qustions

So I am a newbie and am trying to make layer Damascus, but I don't have a welding machine or the money to buy one. Is there any way I can do Damascus without a welder?

Another question I have is rather then having a bunch of short thick layers of steel can I just have a few long layers that way I don't have to draw it out as much?

(keep in mind I'm a high school student and can't afford a power hammer and other expensive equipment. 

They have been making pattern welded steel for over 1500 years now; give you a hint: no arc welders in the medieval period!

So; You can wire the billet together using baling wire or rebar tie wire, I used to make one starting layer longer to make it easier to grab with the tongs for a handle. (Or even long enough to use as a handle if it was a mild layer!)  Or you could drill holes through the layers and rivet them together with 16 penny nails cut to length. Or you could make a set of tongs that holds the billet together while you start welding it from the other end.

Next: the longer the billet the more chances there are for a weld to not take or have crud in it, etc.  So if drawing it out is the problem---why not start with a bunch of layers so you need fewer drawing out and stacking steps to get the needed layer count?  I like playing around with billets made from Bandsaw Blades and Pallet straps and start with 20 to 25 layers.  I get discarded bandsaw blades and discarded pallet strapping for free and cut them with bulldog tinsnips---from the back of the blade toward the edge. Let the hardened part just break rather than cut it.

Get a parent to drive you over to my smithy some Saturday and I'll run you through doing a billet or two.