I Forge Iron

Terrible idea?

Sorry if this is the wrong location for this post.  Im just starting out and my "anvil" right now is a small piece of railroad track.  There's not enough room to cut and grind a horn, so I'm trying to figure out an alternative.  One thought was to hammer down a round pipe (which I have plenty of) into a taper and fill it it with concrete.  Opinions?

Note: this will be for small projects only.

Why fill with concrete?  How big a radius does you projects need?  I have a bickern for small items---like arrowheads; cone mandrels for large items like trivets and made stake anvils for stuff in between---you will note that the RR spike driver sledge head could have been forged down into a tapering horn, but most of the small curling I do, I do on the flat anvil face with a light hammer. I also use bull pins when needed.

2039362044_stake_anvils(2).jpg.76d6af6208b2c5026dcd6a4316df2804.jpg

A friend has asked for a celtic armband.  She has made her whole ren faire outfit by hand so it doesn't need to look fancy but its a relatively large radius.  I figured filling it with concrete would add some heft, reduce vibration, and improve efficiency. (I used to have burly rock climber arms, but since having kiddos I am small and weak)

Concrete doesn't really add anything unless it's under your equipment and tool stands. For a one off use plywood for the jig, it doesn't have to last but one use.

I also dis-recommend  grinding rr rail too look like a London Pattern anvil, there are too many easy alternatives to a horn on an anvil. A solidly mounted leg vise is highly desirable in a shop at any rate and they hold many bicerns as opposed to just one on the anvil. Another good alternative is a "portable hole" a hardy hole on a stand independent of the anvil. These are highly desirable for more uses than any one person can list.

Frosty The Lucky. 

Bleu86