I Forge Iron

hello from Iowa

Hello Everyone.  I am new to I Forge Iron.  As the title says I live in Iowa, the North East part to be more specific.  I have been a machinist/toolmaker for 23 years and have a genuine interest in mechanical things and making things out of metal and wood.  A former co-worker stoked my interest in Blacksmith work and I am finally getting to a spot in my life where I enjoy expressing myself through my craftsmanship.  You guys have a xxxxxxxxx support community here and I would love to network with you to swap ideas with and learn from.  Not sure how many smithy's we have in my neck of the woods but I would like to meet you and see some work/tooling and pick your brain a bit.  

Edited by Mod30
language

Good Morning Ben,

Welcome to our world. You are familiar with removing material to get to your final product. NOW, you are going to learn about moving the molecules to a different position, to get to your final product. A simple aid to figure out what it will look like and how much material you will need, is 'Play-Doh'. Yes some call it Plasticene or Modeling Clay. The key factor is, YOU can hold it in your hands and manipulate it with your fingers. Play-Doh works identical to Hot Metal when it is in it's Plastic State. The same motions you use to move the Play-Doh, is exactly the same sequence and procedure to move hot metal. There are very few 'RULES', but there are lots of guidelines. A simple 'rule' is S.O.R. (Square, Octagonal, Round) when drawing out. The same as squeezing between your fingers, it gets smaller and longer. Then you turn it 90 degrees and square it up (or rectangular). Then you knock the corners in (octagonal), Then you use small/lighter hammer blows to make it round. You can finish(?) it round with 'hot filing' with a worn 'Farriers Rasp'.

Welding, you add metal. Cutting, you remove metal. Machining, you remove metal. Blacksmithing, you move metal.