I Forge Iron

Atlas Anvil VS NC Knife Maker VS 4140 150 Lb Round Bar

Hi folks, im looking for a budget Anvil, my budget is around 300 dlls ,  My current Anvil is a 25 Lb RR on a 40# wood stand

I know any anvil would be 100 times better than my current anvil.

Atlas and NC are around 300 dlls and 70#... i can get 200# of 10" x 12" in height for 225 dlls, of course no hardy hole, so probably would spend another 50 - 80 to a shop .

if you guys can help i would appreciate it.

been forging for around 6 months, times a week, 3 hours a day average, forging mostly knives, and tools for friend. ive only used 5160 for knives and tools. and a36 for general forging.

complete beginner of course but with lots of will to learn.

Ironpp

Have you tried looking for a big piece of scrap steel?  You can make a portable hole for hardy tooling. A log with a hole lined with square tubing will work for a hardy hole. I use a piece of vertical rail and I don't mind using it. It's 115 lbs though so maybe that's why it seems ok. 

The difference between a big hunk of steel and an anvil is the anvil will have a hardened face but I don't know if the difference in the amount of steel in the 200 lb piece  would make up for it not having a hardened face.

Let the debate begin!

Pnut

I didn't ask what types of things you are going to be making. If it's large projects that require a striker you may be better off with a two hundred pound piece of steel. If you're making small things I might just go ahead and get the 70#  anvil or maybe save up for a little longer and get an anvil in the 120# range.  Tough decision. 

Pnut