I Forge Iron

A long, drawn out post about the new guy's second set of tongs

Cleave

First and second set of tongs, from 1/2" round bar.

The second set improved a lot over the first I think, the proportions feel better, didn't need to resort to twisting, and cold riveted them together (easy enough).

They aren't set to hold anything in particular so they can hold a lot of things, but not very securely!!! I can see adding a longitudinal v groove to them next time I have a fire going.

There's always room for improvement but I'm quite happy with pair #2.

Anvil - 60 lb Fisher from the 1880's
Forge - campfire with blow pipe

DSCN4244.thumb.JPG.2aa717de04e81e30bfc4ccea6ebc6e37.JPG

DSCN4242.thumb.JPG.79950fe13ca76514f8e05a666d53b50e.JPG

Edited  by Mod30

Nice. That top pair looks much beefier. I'm a noob myself so I may be out of line to suggest grooving the beak and quenching so it'll provide more grip. I made a pair just last week and boy did the iron fly until I ground grooves into it. Though mine were intended to hold "hot" work since it's soft and they can bite in good.

Also love the campfire forge. My first one was a hole covered in brick using a centerfugual fan and plain old wood!

No quenching tongs Newbie! :o  Forget quenching anything you don't want hardened and hardened tongs are a B A D thing, they're always getting hot so any kind of heat treat other than MAYBE normalizing is a general waste of time.

Rather than grinding shapes in the bits, heat them to a nice medium to high orange, place the stock you wish them to hold in the bits as the form and beat the bits together over it on the anvil driving the form's shape into them. This will give you tong bits that closely fit what you wish to hold. If you want V bits, an excellent general gripping shape, use square stock on the diamond as your form.