I Forge Iron

Bluing v Forced Patina - Kitchen Knife

Welcome aboard, Jameson, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance.

Bluing IS patination. Some patinations are more durable than others, I recommend to you: "The Coloring, Bronzing and Patination of Metals," by Richard Hughes. It has more than you'll even need to know about the subject start to finish and in close detail.

Frosty The Lucky.

Frosty thank you for the resource! I will certainly update the profile but first I have some reading to do. Steve hot bluing is what I was initially trying to research but I am a complete rookie to the process so just looking for information at this time. 

Carbon steel blades will oxidize over time with any practical level of care.  The idea is to get them to oxidize with forms of iron oxide other than red rust as they are less problematic, and tend to extend the time it takes for red rust to form.  Many of them happen to look pleasing as well which is a bonus.  To my knowledge, there is no concern with bluing and food safety as long as the blade is cleaned of all the bluing chemicals after it is done.

Hot bluing requires a pretty significant commitment to do in the home shop.  Some do have setups, but unless you plan to do a lot of it, you'll probably find the hazards and expense are not worth it.  There may be a gunsmith reasonably close by who can hot blue your parts.

4 hours ago, rhitee93 said:

Carbon steel blades will oxidize over time with any practical level of care.  The idea is to get them to oxidize with forms of iron oxide other than red rust as they are less problematic, and tend to extend the time it takes for red rust to form.  Many of them happen to look pleasing as well which is a bonus.  To my knowledge, there is no concern with bluing and food safety as long as the blade is cleaned of all the bluing chemicals after it is done.