I Forge Iron

Coal forges and adding carbon to material

Cethial

Hi IFI

I work as a machinist and at work I often talk to my colleague about forging, he gave me some material to try forging at home. I went home to forge it and for the first hour it was alright to hammer the material, but after 4 hours of hammering I started getting nowhere. I asked him back at work what kind kind of material he gave me and he said it was special tool steel. I complained for a while as I barely could hammer it. He then said that since I'm using a coal forge, I'm passively increasing the carbon content in the steel. I was aware of this, but I didn't think it would be by such a huge amount.

my question is does anyone have an estimate on how much it matters? And how much carbon is added to the steel?

Best regards

03189F2D-A2E3-4B22-AB9D-27D81469E93B.jpeg

I think what zone of the fire the stock was in would play a big part. Carbeurizing metal in the forge requires a reducing flame. Someone with more experience can probably expand on this but I have a feeling it would be a negligible amount of carbon being added to the stock without it being packed in a container with carbon material and being heated to critical temp without much oxygen being present. I'm sure someone will be along shortly to explain it better and correct anything I've gotten incorrect. My inexperienced instinct says after four hours it may be decarbeurizing the steel but I've been wrong before and will be wrong many more times to come.

Pnut

Edited by pnut

Thanks for the quick response, honestly I barely have any experience. I'm having a tough time finding good material here in Denmark, which is why my colleague told me to bring the tool home and try it. It might as well be the material the tool is made out of that is hard xxxxxxxl. Otherwise I might do something horribly wrong when I'm forging