I Forge Iron

Is this a cast steel anvil.

This was sold to me as a antique anvil and I don't really know anything else about it other than it weighs about 11 pounds. I removed the paint from the forging surfaces and polished them with ceramic polishing pads. There are no maker marks or stamps on the anvil but I'd love to know if it's cast steel or iron. From the little bit of research that I've done it sounds like steel but I'm not certain.  

broken video removed

I'm not sure why the video isn't showing up. I'm going to upload it again. If it doesn't work I'll add photos in the morning. 

I'm a jeweler and not a blacksmith hence the 11 pound anvil. I hope you won't hold that against me :)

It did spark while I'm was removing the paint with a rotary wire brush and grinder.

This might help. It's a screenshot. 

Screenshot_20190519-231951.png

When posting pics, just stills, if you're trying to post video from your phone the file size is probably bouncing. Iforgeiron is seen all over the world, more than 50,000 members and many are on dial up connections and have to pay for it so we try not to burn a lot of bandwidth. Still pics under about 240k are good, we can get a good look.

Frosty The Lucky.

To elaborate, the foot looks like the 11lb cast iron anvils found if you search google for '11lb anvil' but the casting, or at least the paint, on yours looks smoother.  There are some photos of a 24lb anvil with the smooth finish.  the current photo of the 24lb on the grizzly site has a rough finish so yours could just be either from an earlier production.

1 hour ago, BIGGUNDOCTOR said:

I have never seen cast iron take a mirror shine like that. So, unless it is chrome plated I'd say it is steel.