I Forge Iron

First Pair of Tongs

Mandragoran

Hello, I havent had the opportunity to forge in several months. Finally had the chance to do so. I am a beginner, so I wanted to make a pair of tongs, as it seemed good practice. It was quite the adventure, especially trying to rivet them together, which kinda failed... 

Overall, they are ugly, crooked, and beginner tongs, but they are still tongs.

IMG_20190309_152347.jpg

IMG_20190309_152354.jpg

IMG_20190309_152401.jpg

IMG_20190309_152406.jpg

Have I wished you welcome aboard, glad to have you Mandragon? If not, that was it. 

Oh my goodness, are those reins long enough?:o Just messing with you a little, they're easy to shorten.

Do they work, can you hold work with them?

Making tongs are NOT a beginner's project unless you have an experienced smith on hand helping. They involve basic processes but with one MAJOR difference, you have to make two halves that match and that's not so easy.

Even if those don't work, keep them so you can compare your work as your skills improve. Seriously it makes you feel the progress. 

You have some skills to develop for now. Hammer control is about as important to blacksmithing as not grabbing the HOT end. mounting your anvil at the best height for YOU is the first step. Standing relaxed in the shoes you work in with your arms hanging relaxed at your side the face should be about wrist height. Knuckle height is from the days when smiths didn't work alone and strikers were swinging sledge hammers.

Learn to draw stock down lengthways. S hooks, drive hooks and such are good practice. Adding decorative twists are good and don't interfere with learning to draw long EVEN tapers. 

Nails are another good project for tapers but you get to add another process, upsetting in the form of heading the nails.