I Forge Iron

Amal Burner

Casapa

They are fairly rare here in the USA but I bought 3 out of a NOS lot of 50 off ebay 5 years ago on speculation.  Wish I'd bought all 50!  I've been using gas forges for over 20 years and these burners are hands down the best burners I've ever seen.  Can forge weld with 1 burner running at 10 psi. 

The Amal injectors are not complete burners: just the clever bit that is really hard to do in the average home shop.

I've used them at work for nearly 30 years, mainly 2" injectors for pilot burners on waste gas plant, though I've also used some smaller ones. They are very good indeed. I've been using the 1/2", 3/4" and 1" for forges for a good few years and used a 1 1/2" in a forge for the first time this year. 

They were designed way back by the Amal Carburettor Company, who knew a bit about mixing fuel and air in a controlled manner. After Amal stopped making carburettors, etc, the injectors were made by an outfit called Grosvenor Works for many years. More recently, all the Amal IP seems to have passed to Burlen Fuel Systems, who were already making Solex and SU carburettors for old British cars. The Amal carbs (for motorcycles) are the core business, but some of the more unusual things they made still have niche markets: the atmospheric injectors are used by the sort off odd folk who mess with things like forges. They also have a range of big low-pressure gas valves that are used by the even odder folk who fly hot-air balloons.

I get the impression that they'll make and sell you whatever you ask for by part number, or similar precise identifier, but probably do not have the (expensive) technical staff to advise you on suitable products for new applications. That suits me fine, as I already know what I want and it keeps the prices reasonable.