I Forge Iron

Coal Forge Build Help

Ghent

Hey all, I'm fairly new to this and this is my first forge so please bear with me. I'm currently trying to decide on a design for a coal forge.

20181223_183158.jpg

I have this old fire pit (28in diameter, 7in deep) that I plan to use as my fire pot, the metal is thin so to prevent the fire from burning through I was thinking of using cement rated for 2,200 F to coat the inside. I also want to have a table that has a hole cut in the center that the pit fits into. I have two options for the table. I can either buy a 1/4in thick steel plate from craigslist for 60$ (I would also have to cut it down to size, but I don't have the tools to do that) 

Or I can use some 3/4in thick 95inch long and 18 wide. You probably noticed that the wood is not as wide as the pit, to remedy this I would cut the wood in half and put the two sides together making it 47.5 in long and 36 in wide. My questions are, is wood a viable option? If not is there a cheaper option than the steel plate? And is there any other comments on the design?

Sorry for the horrendous formatting, also here is another photo I forgot to add

Screenshot_2018-12-23-18-29-03-1.png

Priced this week at two different big box stores, a 1 x 12 x 8 foot common pine sheeting is over $21 a board, knots, splits, and bows included.  That is a rare piece of lumber. Find a better use than cutting it for a forge.

Find an old pallet at most any store for free and take it apart. More than enough wood to make a JABOD forge. Did I mention free? So get two of them in case you need one for a project later. You will also need a piece of 3/4 or 1 inch black iron pipe, and some dirt. If you can not find dirt in Upstate New York, then pay the extra money and get a bag of NEW, not used, cheap kitty litter. One bag should be enough.