I Forge Iron

Buy a shear?

Jclonts82

I wanting to cut some strips of various nickel alloys (1/16 to 1/8 inches thick) by about 2 inches wide for now, maybe wider in the future. But I need the cut piece to be square in dimension. IE, I have a 12 inch flat strip that is 2" wide X 1/16th thick , and I want to cut it into small 1/16 square pieces that are 2" long.

Since nickel alloys are fairly expensive, I want save on material loss that would otherwise come from a band-saw or even a jewlers saw cutting the strips by hand. I imagine a shear-type tool will fit the bill. However  I have NO experience using one at all, and would like some recommendations. 

I can get a Baileigh MPS-8G shear for about $200. anyone have experience cutting this small/accurately with a shear? and would something like this meet my needs, or any other alternatives would be appreciated.    If my project works and doesn't frustrate me to no end, I will be doing a LOT of this in the future, so tool cost-investment is worth it to me. 

Thanks

Hopefully someone with more shearing experience will be on soon to help you.  One thing I do know from my limited experience is that if you are looking for real square crossections the shear will definitely distort it too much if you try to cut to exact dimensions.  If I had to make quantities of material like this and wanted to have an accurate clean square I would investigate sourcing wire in a larger diameter then rolling and/or drawing it to accurate squares, then cutting it to length. 

Other options include laser or waterjet cutting, but those are quite a bit more costly.

You are only going to get close with a bench shear...not very square or flat.  What you need is a stomp shear or squaring shear (various names) but while those would do the 1/16, you'd be hard pressed to shear the 1/8.  Then you jump in size to mechanical squaring shears which get into a whole lot more money.