I Forge Iron

Mirror finish help needed

Hello, newbie here working on my second knife.  The first was a practice knife made from a file, and I left the finish rougher as I wanted to retain the file lines.  This one is a wedding gift for a friend of my mother's, and while it will likely be a heavily used knife, I wanted to deliver it with a nicer finish since it's a gift.

It's a Baby Bowie made from 5160 leaf spring steel.  It's mostly done (hardened, edged, handle attached and shaped), but I still have to polish the blade and sand and finish the handle.

I hoped to get it there on my belt grinder, but I realize now that I hadn't done the proper research yet.  Now I'm trying to figure out how shiny I should be able to get it on my grinder and then how to finish it.

I have a 1x42 Kalamazoo grinder with cheapy AO belts from 40-400 grit and then nicer ceramic (mod edit Silicon Carbide) 1000 grit belts.  The finish in the picture, if you can see it properly, is the best I can get with stepping up from 120-240-400-1000.  The scratches in the middle of the blade seem to have been caused by the 1000 belt when I put it against the platten.  I can get it shinier around the edges of the flats on the slack part of the belt, but the platen grinding seems to not work as well.  I don't know if this is me (pressure, technique), the belt, or the platten.

So is that the best I should expect on a grinder?  I have automotive wet/dry paper in grits 400-600-800-1000-1500-2000-2500-3000.  Is it best to just use those now with a backer and alternating direction polishing?  I've also seen videos using a sanding wheel, but I don't have one, and haven't purchased one yet.

Thanks for any and all advice.

IMG_20180707_150218499.jpg