I Forge Iron

Anvil advice for newbie

Hi, I'm just getting into black/bladesmithing as an at-home hobby.  I've taken 40 hours of classes so far, and am starting to set up my home shop.  The smithy I trained in had TFS 100lb anvils for the students, so I am comfortable with that one and am considering buying one since they are available at in my hometown.  That is about the size and style that I am looking for.  However, I found an interesting post on Craiglist from a guy starting up a business.

It's a great price for what could be a decent anvil (60kg for $450).  It is cast steel, which I understand can be bad.  But it is 1053 and tempered to 55-62 hrc.  I talked to him a bit for more info, and he said they are being made in China and use middle frequency induction quench (I know nothing about that) for the hardening.  He also said they are the same manufacturer that makes Cougar anvils in Australia, for what that's worth.  I checked them out and they look pretty cheap with a bad flat horn design, but these horns look nice and round.

I'm a total newbie at this, so can someone take a look at this add and give me their honest first opinion about it?

Thank you.

Your external commercial link will shortly be taken down by an admin: they are expressly forbidden in the site agreement.

A guy reselling imported cast anvils out of 1053 (?), that has no say over the quality control, and offers no reasons why his are better or equal to those sold thru reputable dealers (with guarantees) for a similar price. What could go wrong?

Color me skeptical. 

Get a lump of scrap steel for pennies a pound, or buy a real anvil from a real dealer with a real customer satisfaction record. You will be happier in the long run.

Those anvils are made in china and are available through alibaba. i was considering buying some of these to turn around and sell but chose not to because of the lack of quality control.