I Forge Iron

Pipeline welders

you will have to x-ray, so good pen. beads ,cleanup and cap.may have to go 3 passes, which id mild. lo-hi tie in and 1 not tied in but used to temper the outher welds-i for one can weld but doubt i can x-ray. you may have to bevel yourself so practice that too. good luck, jimmy

I agree with Welder19 on this one. Get a mentor who will teach you the proper way to do things, or take a class that will do the same. I have done pipe welding before, but am not a pipe welder. Take it from me, it is not and easy task to do. learning to read the puddle from where you are standing and tell whats going on inside the pipe is not a skill that comes overnight nor is it one that can be self-taught. Get someone to teach you, and get some pipe. LOTS OF PIPE!!! And remember, practice is the key.

Good luck to you in your future endeavors,
-Hillbilly

P.S.
Practice welding pipe with the process you are going to use. If you are going to weld pipe at the job with stick, don't bother waisting your time TIG welding the pipe or visa versa. If you are going to use both, then by all means, DO both. But it does come in handy to know all that you can. Just another little tip.

I am a Pipefitter/welder and I have worked with lots of Pipeliners. Most pipeline welding is 6010 downhill.
I would take the advice of Hillbillysmith and find out the process they want you to use. If possable find someone to teach you so you don't practice mistakes.
Hope this helps