I Forge Iron

New from Toronto

GMURDOCH

Hi all

Brand spanking new.

I am from Toronto, Ontario Canada 

I am a hard chrome electroplater and a hobbyist. My hobby has lead me here.

I am building an exoskeletal armour based on the War-Machine and skills that I need to further my goal of completing my build has drawn me to this place. I am currently constructing a casting furnace but I am also considering a forge. So I have some reading ahead of me. Love to learn about this craft so here we go. Just a sample pic of what I'm looking to do. I guess I should be more informative. 

I am a huge fan of the Iron-man series, that being said I want to make my own. I got into prop-building and through trial and error I've realized making a metal armour is the way to go. Research and Development has been huge for me. I have no experience in any skills really beforehand.

I've had no tools with exception to jewelry tools. So between learning and buying it has been a chore. 

I'm studying metalcasting, metal forming, machining, welding, electronics. Just to start.

I am building an exoskeletal armour based on the War-Machine but redesigned, boasting a full range of motion with lights sounds and servo motors. Made of steel, aluminum and titanium. That's it, in a nut shell. 

Screenshot_2017-05-03-22-01-46-1.png

Edited by GMURDOCH

Welcome to the forum. As you said, plenty of reading here.

That's a pretty impressive piece of engineering in your picture there.

Funny thing, just seeing your name and location. I have just been watching Murdoch Mysteries on TV - based in Toronto, Canada! :)

1 hour ago, ausfire said:

Welcome to the forum. As you said, plenty of reading here.

That's a pretty impressive piece of engineering in your picture there.

Funny thing, just seeing your name and location. I have just been watching Murdoch Mysteries on TV - based in Toronto, Canada! :)

Yannik Bisson the actor who plays Murdoch, I went to school with him. Really nice fella.