I Forge Iron

Anvil ID and value please

Howdy folks, absolute noobie here. 

The short version...

Just getting into blacksmithing and don't know hardly anything. :unsure:  A friend is moving into a new workshop and the owner is moving out (mostly). He's got an anvil that he supposedly wants to sell but I don't know how much this anvil may be worth. I was able to visit the shop and get some pictures which I will post below. In my estimation it's about 100 lbs. and noticed all the edges are pretty chipped/rounded over. I hit it with a chunk of steel and it had a good ring to it, no dull thud or funky vibrations that I could tell.

Any information you can provide as to it's general condition and value would be greatly appreciated. I have a feeling this guy is going to want to sell it real soon so I'd like to know if it's something I should pounce on or let it go.

Thanks!

5a84de030e979_Anvil-1.thumb.jpg.7399704722fe3451426d670320ae6568.jpg 

Anvil - 3.jpg

Anvil - 7.jpg

Anvil - 2.jpg

Anvil - 6.jpg

Anvil - 5.jpg

Anvil - 4.jpg

141 LB Peter Wright in good used condition. Has a lot of life in it if you can do a rebound test, even better. Worth what you are willing to pay for it. i hear there are lots of anvils in texas (no ida really) but since it is a smallish anvil even when very adequate, don't go overboard. Try $200 to start? 

PW are the most abundant anvil around and some rate them very high. I tend to think of them as working horses and not racing studs, so sort of middle range in quality. That anvil would be a God sent for most beginners.

PS

Don't get any ideas of "fixing it", take it or leave it ... I can't even make a joke about fixing anvils and my joke gets deleted :P :)

Yes, old english anvils are weight stamped in the CWT or hundredweight system:

Left most number x 112 (hundredweights)

middle number x 28 (quarter hundredweights and so should only be 0-3)

Right most number(s) residual pounds and so it can be 0-27