I Forge Iron

First knife attempt (looking for advice on ways to move forward)

Jonathan Smidt

Hey all, so I'm new to this, I've taken a few blacksmithing courses, and about 6 hours of basic bladesmithing (as well as watching videos/reading books.)  I just finished my first ever attempt at a knife, 1084 steel, with inlace acrylester as the handle (bought from texasknife).  Any who, I have it now near my forge, as a reminder of my starting point, and while I feel I learned some lessons as I worked on it, I'm curious what noticeable issues there are that I should focus on fixing, and any/all tips on how to go about doing that would be greatly appreciated! 

20171028_183530.jpg

20171028_183452.jpg

20171028_183503.jpg

I like the design. I can see where you were going with it.

I think your bevels are much too short. Unless what i am seeing is just a secondary bevel. They are also quite wobbly, not following the edge truly. This can be seen in the plunge line. Look into draw filing to improve both of these aspects. 

You also have no ricasso on the blade, the perpendicular step should help keep your hand away from the edge, but IMO, the only time a blade should not have a ricasso is when it has a guard. 

Personally, i dont like seeing hammer marks and pits in blades, it can be pulled off correctly, but usually i just think it looks sloppy and incomplete. 

Mostly, this is all opinion. But you asked for my critique ;).

Oh, yes, when you take photos of your blades, try to chose plain, mono colored backgrounds that do not reflect light, and with good natural lighting. The countertop you used is too busy and reflective, it draws the eye away from the piece that it should be focusing on.