I Forge Iron

Anyone near me (South Shore, MA)?

I'm new to smithing, but I've got the bug bad. 

joined NEB, but since there's no discussion forum or much means of communication through the website, I figure I'll post here. 

I just purchased a table (railroad?) forge, anvil, basic tools, and some coal, but haven't had a chance to fire it up yet. Hoping this coming weekend. 

Anyway, I live in Pembroke, just north of Plymouth and was wondering who might be in my area to meet up with, have a beer, talk shop, etc. (I'm a home brewer that actually makes really good beer, not your average homemade swill, and I'm happy to share). 

John

Welcome to Glenn's international block party (it out grew is front porch).

i imagin some one is in your area, and with the offer of (good) beer they could be encorage to make an appearance. 

Min the mean time read the stickies on solid fuel forge fire management, anvil and forge hight, shop layout hammer dressing and light a fire and bash steel. Then poor beer and show us your fist attempt. 

Welcome Cavpilot to NEBs, a real friendly group but spread over a 6 state region. 

There is a monthly meeting/get together at a Mus. in RI that is listed on NEB's website.  I have not been, too far for me for a days outing,  I have met some of the people and nice folks.

Keep an eye on postings here as I know there is an active blacksmith from Rutland Mass  who might give you some others in your area. 

See if you can find a class somewhere, great leg up and a better place to meet people of the same interest. 

Thanks, I'll look for the RI meets. Almost anywhere in RI is within 1.5 hours of me. Not exactly a quick jaunt, but manageable most of the time.