I Forge Iron

Wooden Stand for Propane Forge?

Eric Schatz

I'm new to smithing but am a furniture maker.  As a result I make rolling carts for everything in my small furniture shop.  I was thinking of making a wooden rolling cart to put my propane forge ontop of so I can move it indoors when I'm done with it.   (I dont want the hose rotting from sitting in the weather)  Also I'd put a rack on it for hammers and general other things.  Maybe even put my vice on it.  What do you all think of this?  My forge doesn't get very hot on the bottom of it.   Maybe put a sheet of metal between the forge and the top?  I dont have access to a welder right now so making a metal cart is a bit difficult with my limited smithing skills. 

Maybe this is completely stupid.  I did a google search and found some people doing this.  Genius or idiot?

Eric if you lived in the USA you could get a free metal cart very easily by finding a junked gas grill cart, remove the grill and cover that gap with a piece of sheet metal---I used 4 SDST metal screws on mine and you have a rolling cart with a place to store the propane bottle!  If you have one with wooden bars on the ends you can replace them with metal strap or pipe and have built in tool racks for hammers and tongs (more sdst screws, I had a surplus from building my shop...) No welding required!

Where I live it's so dry that wood is very combustible and so avoiding it around my forge prevents a lot of scorch marks...I once lit a 6 inch diameter log with a wooden kitchen match in our woodstove.

Thomas,

I'm in Indiana.  Not sure what that means about humidity relative to this being a good idea.  I'll look for a grill on the Craigslist free.  A wooden cart would be very easy for me to build and I could make it very customized to fit space and aesthetic.  Not sure if it's a good idea or not. 

Lighting a 6" log with a single match sounds crazy.  Even my kilned dried wood wont do that easily.